Tuesday, 7 August 2018

Former Governor's Residence Museum - Nakhon Phanom Province

Former Governor's Residence Museum
The house was built around 1912 to 1914 by Vietnamese builders for the first provincial governor of Nakhon Phanom appointed from Bangkok. He was Phraya Adulyadejsiammay suanpakdeepiriyapaha (Aui Nakorntup).

In 1927, Phraya Adulyadej sold the building to The Ministry of Interior to be used for the residence of Nakhon Phanom’s provincial governors.

In 1955 the current governor had the house renovated when the current king of Thailand visited for a one night visit on the 12 December 1955. His Majesty the King Rama IX and Her Majesty the Queen Sirikit enjoyed their brief stay in the house.

The house was then unused for the next 50 years as it was abandoned. It was felt that the governor could not sleep in the same room that the king had slept in.

Former Governor's Residence Museum
The decision was made in 2008 to restore the old run-down mansion so that it could be opened as Nakhon Phanom’s main museum, named the Juan Pooh Wah museum. The restoration aimed to make the house look like it did when the king stayed there. This included the bedroom in which he slept. The lovely interior has been beautifully restored and preserved and its original beauty can still be seen by visitors today.

The two-storey brick-and-cement house has tall-and-narrow windows with elegant ocean-blue louvred shutters along its cream-yellow exterior walls. The museum’s entrance is through an arched door with a lunette on top.

The first floor of the house contains displays about the history of Nakhon Phanom, with an emphasis on the last 100 years. Inside visitors can see the glossy varnished wood antique desk placed on orange-and-white star-pattern tile floors and surrounded by framed photos of Nakhon Phanom’s governors. On display are some stunning baisri, spire-shaped Thai offerings made of flowers and husks.

Former Governor's Residence Museum
Restored teakwood stairs take you up to the second floor which has the bedroom where Thailand ’s king stayed during his visit 1955. A few of the old meeting rooms have information boards about local history and the various tribal / ethnic groups that have settled in the area.

The grounds also include modest gardens, a coffee shop and the restored old kitchen in a separate building out the back. In the rear building, there are displays of the building's construction and the history of the fireboat processions

Open: Wednesdays to Sundays from 10:00 am to 5:00 pm.
Admission: free.
Contact : Tel. 08 5853 8503
Address: Sunthorn Vijit Road | Naimueang Subdistrict, Nakhon Phanom 48000, Thailand

No comments:

Post a Comment