Monday, 14 August 2017

Viet Nam cities mark ASEAN 50th anniversary with light show

Five Vietnamese cities will celebrate the Association of Southeast Asian Nations 50th Anniversary Grand Celebration with a light show on the evening of August 8, reports the Vietnam News Agency.

The ASEAN was formed on August 8, 1967 through the Bangkok Declaration. It originally had five members – Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand – and has since expanded to include Brunei, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar and Viet Nam.

The five cities of Ha Noi, Ho Chi Minh City, Da Nang, Hai Phong and Can Tho will simultaneously commemorate the ASEAN golden anniversary through a ‘Landmark Lighting’ activity at exactly 7:00pm.

Landmark Lighting activities, which feature the flags of ten ASEAN Member States, will also be held in other ASEAN Member States.

The Landmark Lighting symbolizes ASEANs key role as the light that guides the path of the ten ASEAN Member States in pursuit of regional peace and security, prosperity, and socio-cultural development.

No comments:

Post a Comment